Top Gun Sprints Race Report 10-20-12

Top Gun Sprints
North Florida Speedway, October 20, 2012

Scorpion Heat #1

  1. 6S Robbie Smith (Tampa, FL)
  2. 22 Shawn Murray (Jacksonville, FL)
  3. 82 Danny Martin (Sarasota, FL)
  4. 38 Tony Agin (Ft. Myers, FL)
  5. 43 Tanner Witherspoon (Jacksonville, FL)
  6. 21 Shawn Cornell (Dunnellon, FL)
  7. 0X Phillip Pettay (Glen St. Mary, FL)

Shock Dyno Heat #2

  1. 83 Mark Ruel Jr. (Jacksonville, FL)
  2. 92 Matt Kurtz (Jacksonville, FL)
  3. 3A A.J. Maddox (Brandon, FL)
  4. 5 Tim Grubaugh (Anthony, FL)
  5. 34 Darren Orth (Jacksonville, FL)
  6. 7 Kyle Pitts (Sebring, FL)
  7. 1 Dave Thomas (St. Augustine, FL)

Simpson Feature

1)92 Matt Kurtz; 2) 82 Danny Martin; 3) 83 Mark Ruel Jr.; 4) 22 Shawn Murray; 5) 6S Robbie Smith; 6) 38 Tony Agin; 7) 34 Darren Orth; 8) 43 Tanner Witherspoon; 9) 5 Tim Grubaugh; 10) 0X Phillip Pettay; 11) 21 Shawn Cornell; 12) 3A A J Maddox; 13) 1 Dave Thomas; 14) 7 Kyle Pitts; DNS


The Top Gun Sprints made their second visit of 2012 to North Florida Speedway on Saturday October 20, 2012. There were 14 cars at the track to give fans two heat races and a 25 lap feature race.

Shawn Murray in the 22 car had the pole with Tony Agin in the 38 on the outside for the start of the SCORPION heat race. Shawn took the lead on the start, and then it was Robbie Smith went around and took the win. The 3A of AJ Maddox had the pole for the SHOCK DYNO heat race, with Darren Orth in the 34 car on the outside. On the start A J took the lead on the start, and then it was Mark Ruel Jr. went around and never looked back and took the win.

The 22 of Shawn Murray had the pole for the start of the SIMPSON feature race event, with the 92 of Matt Kurtz alongside. On the start Matt took the lead and the checkered flag, followed by Danny Martin in the 82 car, Mark Ruel Jr. in the 83 car, Shawn Murray in the 22 car and Robbie Smith in the 6S car rounding out the top 5.

The staff and racers of the Top Gun Sprints would like to thank everyone for their support and hope to see you at Bubba Raceway Park for the October 27, 2012 race. Congratulations go out to Danny Martin for winning the KSE Hardcharger Award.