New Smyrna & Bright House Champions To Be Honored Saturday Night


The New Smyrna Speedway and Bright House Challenge Series Awards banquet will
take place this Saturday evening January 17, at the Spruce Creek Fly-In
Country Club. Cocktail hour will be at 6 pm and dinner at 7 pm with award
presentations to follow.

The top-five in all of New Smyrna’s regular racing divisions will be honored
at the banquet as well as the top five in Bright House Challenge Series Super
Late Model points.

Will Carroll, a 19-year-old former Sprint Car and Midget racer from
Warrambool, Victoria, Australia, spent the year running a Pro Late Model at
New Smyrna for Campi Racing and claimed the 2014 championship by 28 points
over Wildwood’s Ricky Anderson who was named the Rookie of the Year for the
Pro Late Model division. Carroll took three victories, three second place
finishes, two thirds, three fourths and three fifths showing a very consistent
form in capturing the PLM title. Although Anderson did not claim a win during
the year, he had 10 top-five finishes in paving the way to second place in
points. New Smyrna’s Zach Jarrell was third in points with six top-fives
including a win on Father’s Day weekend. Rich Clouser of Deland was the big
winner during the season, taking the checker first in five events and
finishing second three times but he missed several races during the year
accounting for his fourth place points finish. Port Orange driver Michael
Lira also missed a few races, mostly due to his ARCA racing commitment, but he
scored a victory and enough points to take fifth in the standings. Rounding
out the top-ten in PLM points were Daniel Miller, Anthony Cataldi, Cody Blair,
Oklahoma driver Tyler Thomas and Noah Cornman.

Deltona’s Jarrett Korpi was the winningest driver at New Smyrna this season as
he took the checker first in 12 of the 19 E-Modified races that were run this
past year. Korpi outdistanced 14-year-old Matthew Green of Orlando by 37
points to claim his second consecutive E-Modified title. Korpi finished no
worse than fourth in 17 of the 19 races. Green scored four victories and six
second-place finishes on his way to second in points and the Rookie of the
Year honors in the E-Mods. “Diamond” Jim Higginbotham made the long tow from
Summerfield near Ocala each week and ran consistent all year to take third in
points over veterans Mike Dahm and Jon Compagnone. Sixth through tenth in
E-Modified points were Roger Benton, George Dahm, Cody Blair, Chris Brannon
and Justin Reynolds.

Jerry “The Hammer” Symons of New Smyrna won thrre times in claiming yet
another championship in the Open Modified class. Ricky Moxley of Hobe Sound
was second in points followed by Clermont’s Alan Bruns, Matt Wheeler of
Daytona and Vero Beach driver Robert Glover. Mike Dahm, Art Kunzeman, Shane
Held, James “Tank” Tucker and Kurt Jett completed the top-ten in Open Modified

Veteran Donny Williams of Tangerine easily won his third straight Sportsman
championship and the eighth title of his career here. Williams scored 11
top-five finishes, including two wins, to outdistance second place D. J. Farr
of Lake Helen by 73 markers. Third generation racer Derrick Wood of Orlando
scored a pair of victories during the season and took third in the standings
over three-time winner Earl “Junior” Beckner of Apopka and Winter Garden’s Ron
Gustafson. Daniel Conlin, Jr. took sixth in points and was named Rookie of
the Year for the Sportsman class. Seventh through tenth in the standings went
to Austin Carr, Justin Starr, Chris Brannon and Mike Soukup.

Pat Wells of Altoona scored five victories to propel himself to his first Mini
Stock championship in a race that came down to the final night of competition.
Ultimately, Wells would win the title by just seven points over Mini-Stock
veteran David Russell of Melbourne who raced him tooth-and-nail all the way to
the end. Brad Blanton of Eustis had 11 top-five finishes including the first
win of his career in finishing third in points. Young Tyler Simpson won the
most Mini-Stock features during the season - 6 - and only some tough luck with
crashes and mechanical problems kept him from challenging for the
championship. To go along with his fourth place points finish, Simpson was
named Rookie of the Year for the class. Mark Broat had a number of races he’d
like to forget during the year but he still ran well enough to take fifth in
the standings. Rounding out the top-ten in Mini Stock points were Rex
Christiensen, Jamie Dixson, Daniel Brown, Jeff White and Ted Vulpius.

Shannon Kelly of Deland took three wins, seven second place finishes, four
thirds and three fourths in a consistent run to his second consecutive Super
Stock championship topping second place Mike Amato of Edgewater by 61 points
in the final tally. Rookie Preston Hunt of Sanford was third in the standings
and took home the Rookie of the Year title in the Super Stock division in a
close battle with Becca Samsoe who ended up fourth in the standings. Mike
Dahm was fifth in points trailed by J. T. Tippins, Joe Gerard III, Gino
Tumminello, Garrett Hill and George Dahm. Justin Reynolds was the big winner
in Super Stocks taking five victories but did not run enough events to crack
the top-ten in points.

Jimmy “Spaceman” Barron had a total of 19 top-five finishes including a pair
of wins to top the Strictly Stock standings for the year. Zachary Curtis got
a late start but made a huge run, reeling off 10 wins during the second half
of the season to claim second in points over Rookie of the Year Aaron Overman,
Shane Sutorus and Charles King, Sr. Sixth through tenth in Strictly Stock
points went to three-time winner Warren Howie, William Hindman, Mark Shukwit,
Nathan Purdy and Johnathon Murphy who ran just a handful of events but won
four times.

Jesse Dutilly of Bradenton will be honored as the 2014 Bright House Networks
Series Super Late Model champion at the banquet. Dutilly claimed the title at
the final race of the year at DeSoto Speedway. Dutilly ended up just three
points in front of Riverview’s Joe Boyd who had led the standings all year
after winning the season-opening “Ice Breaker 100” at DeSoto. Deland’s Rich
Clouser took third in Bright House Series points ahead of Geneva’s Anthony
Sergi and George Gorham, Jr. of Lakeland. The remainder of the top-ten in
Bright House points were Jake Perkins, Michael Atwell, T. J. Duke, David
Rogers and Jeff Scofield.