Top Gun Sprints Race Report 9-1-12

Top Gun Sprints
East Bay Raceway Park, September 1, 2012

K&N Filters Heat #1

  1. 22 Shawn Murray (Jacksonville, FL)
  2. 9 Sport Allen (Pinellas Park, FL)
  3. 83 Mark Ruel Jr. (Jacksonville, FL)
  4. 92 Matt Kurtz (Jacksonville, FL)
  5. 14 Ryan Partin (Orlando, FL)
  6. 02 Gene Lasker (Tampa, FL)
  7. 12 Collin Cabre (Thonotosassa, FL)
  8. 4 Billy Boyd (Riverview, FL)DNF

Lucas Oil Heat #2

  1. 6S Robbie Smith (Tampa, FL)
  2. 55 Kerry Gilbert (Dover, FL)
  3. 5 Tim Grubaugh (Anthony, FL)
  4. 52M Joe Metcalf (Sarasota, FL)
  5. 8 Rich Alexander (Tampa, FL)
  6. 50 Rick Byerly (Wesley Chapel, FL)
  7. 29 Steve Mueller (Wesley Chapel, FL)
  8. 38 Tony Agin (Ft. Myers, FL)DNF

Pro Shocks Heat #3

  1. 88K Shane Kreidler (Jupiter, FL)
  2. 82 Danny Martin (Sarasota, FL)
  3. 1* Tim George (Venice, FL)
  4. 7 Kyle Pitts (Mulberry, FL)
  5. 21 Jason Webster (Bradenton, FL)
  6. 01 Rebecca George (Venice, FL)
  7. G6 Brandon Grubaugh (Ocala, FL)DNS

Rod End Supply Heat #4

  1)	24 Steve Darvalics (Venice, FL)
  2)	38T Tyler Godwin (Tampa, FL) 
  3)	3A AJ Maddox (Brandon, FL) 
  4)	0L Brandon Lineberger (Ocala, FL)
  5)	79 David Slawiak (Seffner, FL)
  6)  	30 DJ Peeples (Wesley Chapel, FL)
  7) 	07 Clint Reynolds (San Antonio, TX)

B-Main Feature

  1. 02 Gene Lasker; 2) 14 Ryan Partin; 3) 12 Collin Cabre; 4) 21 Jason Webster; 5) 30 DJ Peeples; 6) 29 Steve Mueller; 7) 01 Rebecca George; 8) 50 Rick Byerly; 9) G6 Brandon Grubaugh; 10) 4 Billy Boyd

Boom Trucks Feature

1)82 Danny Martin; 2) 38T Tyler Godwin; 3) 24 Stephen Darvalics; 4) 6S Robbie Smith; 5) 02 Gene Lasker; 6) 3A AJ Maddox; 7) 92 Matt Kurtz; 8) 12 Collin Cabre; 9) 55 Kerry Gilbert; 10) 22 Shawn Murray; 11) 83 Mark Ruel Jr.; 12) 1* Tim George; 13) 21 Jason Webster; 14) 14 Ryan Partin; 15) 30 DJ Peeples; 16) 29 Steve Mueller; 17) 52M Joe Metcalf; 18) 7 Kyle Pitts; 19) 0L Brandon Lineberger; 20) 88K Shane Kreidler; 21) 9 Sport Allen; 22) 5 Tim Grubaugh; 23) 79 David Slawiak; 24) 8 Rich Alexander


The Top Gun Sprints made their first visit of 2012 to East Bay Raceway Park on Saturday September 1, 2012. There were 30 cars at the track to give fans four heat races and a 25 lap feature race.

Shawn Murray in the 22 car had the pole with Mark Ruel Jr. in the 83 on the outside for the start of the K&N FILTERS heat race. On the start it was Shawn took the lead, then Billy Boyd flipped coming out of turn 3 and brought out the red. Then on the restart Shawn keep the lead and took the win. The 6S of Robbie Smith had the pole for the LUCAS OIL heat race, with Tim Grubaugh in the 5 car on the outside. On the start Robbie took the lead and never looked back and took the win. Jason Webster in the 21 car had the pole with Shane Kreidler in the 88K for the start of the PRO SHOCKS heat race. On the start Jason took the lead then on lap 6 he spun in turn 2 that gave the lead to Shane on the restart he stayed out front and took the win. The 07 of Clint Reynolds had the pole for the ROD END SUPPLY heat race, with DJ Peeples in the 30 car on the outside. On the start DJ took the lead then on lap 7 the 79 of David Slawiak spun in turn 4 on the restart it was Stephen Darvalics in the 24 took the lead and the win.

The 14 of Ryan Partin had the pole for the start of the B-MAIN race event, with the 21 of Jason Webster alongside. On the start Billy Boyd had something on front of car after they rebuilt it to make the b-main, only to be out for the night. Also the 21 of Jason spun that put Gene Lasker in the 02 next to Ryan. On the restart it was Gene got the better start and took and the win. That gave the top 6 spots into the BOOM TRUCK feature.

The 24 of Stephen Darvalics had the pole for the start of the BOOM TRUCK feature with Sport Allen in the 9 car on the outside. After the parade lap the green flag dropped and it was Sport that took the lead till Danny Martin and Sport touched and he came to a stop in turn two. That gave the lead to Danny when the race went green till lap 17 when the 5 car of Tim Grubaugh got together and he flipped down the backstretch the car was done and Tim was ok. After everyone was restarted the next caution was on lap 22 when Jason Webster spun. That set up a Green, White, and Checker when it was over it was Danny Martin Jr. the winner, followed by Tyler Godwin in the 38T car, Stephen Darvalics in the 24 car, Robbie Smith in the 6S car and Gene Lasker in the 02 car rounding out the top 5.

The staff and racers of the Top Gun Sprints would like to thank everyone for their support and hope to see you at East Bay Raceway for the September 22, 2012 race.
Congratulations go out to Gene Lasker for winning the KSE Hardcharger Award.