FASTRAK Drivers SPOTLIGHT - #38 Alessa Young

FASTRAK Drivers SPOTLIGHT ? #38 Alessa Young from West Chester, Pennsylvania

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE January 19th 2013 FASTRAK PR

Tell us about yourself.
My name is Alessa Young and I?m nineteen years old from West Chester, Pennsylvannia right outside of Philadelphia. I am currently a sophomore at Towson University where I am majoring in Business Administration and minoring in Spanish. When I?m not racing on the weekends, I am working at my family?s business and a local ice cream store.

How did you get into racing? How old were you? First car/class?
My family has always been into racing. My Pop-pop raced mini stocks and midgets while my Dad raced mini stocks and motorcycles. My family also has an auto repair shop, so our life truly does revolve around cars. One summer my parents and I followed the World of Outlaw sprint cars to Hagerstown, MD. Next to the big track is a quarter midget tracks that had a national event that year. I looked at my dad and said, ?I think I can do that.? From there, it was history. I began racing when I was 10 years old in quarter midgets. At 16 years old I retired from quarter midgets. After trying out micro sprints, sprint cars, and late models, I decided to run a crate late model won.

What is your favorite racing memory?
My favorite racing memory is my last race in quarter midgets at the Motorama event in Harrisburg, PA. Before the race even started we had a flat tire. Luckily, there was a caution on the opening lap and I came in to the hot chute. My Dad and his friends quickly changed the tire and got me right back out onto the track. I started last. I had some trouble getting around a few of my competitors, but finally pulled off a win. It?s my favorite racing memory because it wasn?t a win that wasn?t handed to me, I really had to drive my way to the front.

Greatest achievement in your racing career?