Orlando SpeedWorld Race Recap for 1/9/15


Orlando SpeedWorld returned to action on a chilly Friday night with plenty of
great racing and a little bit of controversy as well.

The big race of the evening featured the return of the Sportsman cars and it
was the “Racing Pyrotechnician,” Andy Nichols of Orlando, setting the early
pace in the 25-lap run. A debris caution on lap four slowed the pace early
but Nichols got a good jump on the restart to maintain his advantage. A Timmy
Todd, Jr. spin coming off turn two slowed the action again on lap eleven.

Following the restart, Junior Beckner put his foot to the floor and zipped by
Nichols for the top spot just as the race reached the half way mark.
Beckner’s run at the front would end quickly though as his car began smoking
and he pulled off the track during the 16th lap. Nichols re-assumed the lead
and led easily to the finish for an apparent victory. However his car was
disqualified in tech for illegal stud girdles and the win was awarded to
second finisher Chad Pierce who was making a start in the car normally driven
by Justin Starr.

Following Pierce to the finish were Bobby Mobley, Donny Williams and Glen
Rhodes, the only cars still running at the end. Todd dropped out with a rear
end issue but was credited with fifth place ahead of Beckner. Both Brandon
Christian and Richard Fiore, Jr. had problems during the warm-up sessions and
were unable to start.

The Legend Cars had their first tune-up for the upcoming February
Winternationals and they ran a highly competitive race that saw all 25
circuits run under green. “Too Tall” Dave Gleason led the opening five laps
before Robby Lyons slipped by to lead the remaining 20 circuits. Seth Adams
started well back in the field but moved into second on lap 12 but could never
catch the fast-running car of Lyons. Adams settled for the runner-up spot in
front of Devin McLeod, Nick Ledson and Gleason. Cole Ledson, Canadian visitor
Gary Bursey, Cameron McGee and David Fusco completed the finishers as all nine
cars that started will still running at the end.

The Mini Cup cars were also in action and raced green to checker without a
yellow flag. Taylor Hosford led the first three laps before being passed by
both Brett Suggs and Tyler Davis. Suggs looked to have the race pretty much
in hand but his engine expired and he headed to the infield near the half-way
crossed flags. Davis took over and raced unchallenged to the win over
Hosford, Russell Bush, Steven Hollinger, Chelsea Garrett, Cameron Wright and
Suggs. Both Danny Burchfield and Luis Potter were unable to make the start.

Charles King, Sr. led every lap to win the 6/8 Cylinder Strictly Stock feature
although the racing behind him was some of the best of the night. The race
saw just one caution flag when “Turbo” Tommy Flinn looped his car in turn four
on the 13th lap. That gave the field a chance to close up on King but he was
up to the challenge and led the remaining distance. Danny Burchfield took
over second with 10 laps to go but could not mount a challenge and settled for
second over ageless Ron McCreary, Neil Kirby and Jim “Crusher” Erb. Rounding
out the top ten were Megan Matheny, Flinn, Keith Wylie, Jamie “McCrazy”
Sullivan and James Skinner. Crash Tyner did not start the event.

Zachary Curtis recently sold his potent Saturn but that didn’t stop him from
putting together another one and he found himself in victory lane yet again at
the conclusion of the 4 Cylinder Strictly Stock feature. Charles King, Jr.
did manage to keep his Chevy Cavalier out front for the first lap before
Curtis stormed by. The race went all the way under green and Curtis won
easily as King held off the Toyota of Jeff Gross for second. Shane Sutorus
took fourth and was trailed to the stripe by Reid Christiensen, Mike Hanna,
Kendra Gregory and Derrick Aldridge.

Doug Samion led all the way to claim his second straight Super Stock victory
over Art Hendren, Charles King, Sr. and Danny Burchfield. Charlie Paschal
topped the 8-cylinder Classics feature leading Larry Larivee and Tobi Smith to
the checker while in the 6-cylinder Classic feature Richie Gomes was given the
checkered flag early as all of his competition fell by the wayside before the
15-lap distance could be reached. Steve Miller was leading the race when he
dropped out and was credited with second over Ron Furnival and Doug
Cheesborough. David Davis did not start.

Colton Bramlett led all the way to claim the Bandolero race over Brett Suggs
and Katy Froelich.

Great Job, Dave

Great Job Dave,Once again you are the man that knows how to tell it all. Thanks for all of your hard work! No one can do it better!:ernaehrung004::ernaehrung004::ernaehrung004: