visited a new track this weekend

I had a long weekend in southern Michigan, and loved visiting a new track. It is a little place that does a lot of things right: Galesburg Speedway.

Blinding speed? A glittering media spectacle? No to both, but I can tell you that the 1/4 paved surface had the right combination on bank, width and proportion to put on EXCELLENT, side by side racing. Four out of five features were won by guys who started DEEP in the field, and who picked their way to the front, usually passing on the outside. Yes, even the late models could pass and run side by side.

Why did they start so far back? Every class time trialed, and the fast cars went to the back. Ok, I am no Galesburg expert, in fact we were chattering all night, but my understanding is that the fast cars go to the rear in order to put on a show. IT WORKS.

I got the idea that everyone is a local, and they all brought their family, their neighbors, their buddy from work, etc. The crowd was very large and very vocal. They did a lot of cheering for their favorites; a nice change from stoic Florida fans.

Looking at the results from a July 4’th hundred lapper, I see that Florida’s Steve Dorer made the trip to race.

A few more notes: the announcer had nicknames for so many of the drivers. “Turbo Snail” won his feature. There were Rocketmen, Super Simmi’s, and more names than I could recall…even a “John Doe”. The point is that the place had atmosphere and color.