Ministock trailer

I did a quick search on the forum and don’t see a “For Sale” section. I am not sure if “For Sale” ads are allowed here or not. If not, I’ll delete this post… much appreciated.

Now that I’m over 70 and having trouble with my eyesight, my racing days are over. I’ve sold all my racing cars, and it’s time to sell my old ministock trailer. It’s hard for me to believe, but I have been using this trailer for the past 45 years or so.

I bought the trailer at Florida City Speedway in about 1972 or 1973 for $25. It is possible that the trailer was originally built by my good friend Dana Barlow, but I am not sure of that. When I bought the trailer, the front cross beam was broken, and the coupler was a homemade one. To get the trailer operational, the front crossbeam was repaired, new lights were installed, a new 2" coupler was installed, and the triangular bracing was added to the sides. A year or two later, I installed a tire rack on the front of the trailer, but I removed that rack later when it was in the way when I was sports car racing. I took this ministock photo showing the tire rack at Old Dominion Speedway in Virginia in about 1976.

After I sold that ministock, I used the trailer to transport a number of vintage racing cars to the races, including my Lola T492 Sportsracer, and numerous Formula Ford racing cars.

Somewhere along the line, I added fenders to the trailer. I also used it to transport an MGA, and a Renault R-8. The MGA just barely fit on the trailer and is the longest wheelbase car that will fit. I also used the trailer to transport my Leyland 154 tractor from Michigan where I bought it to home, and then to a number of tractor shows after I had restored the tractor.

I also used it to transport a number of mini-sprint race cars.

The last race car I had was a DAARA midget that I towed to a number of vintage oval events all over the country. I bolted on the wood planks on the back to support the wide midget tires on that car.