Soaking Tires?

You mean it’s legal in Florida? Only you can’t go under a certain number on the durometer? What the heck?
Florida asphalt racing may be as screwed up as Georgia asphalt racing.

I listened to the speed51 show that had Ricky Brooks and Jeff Choquette, David Rogers and Tim Russell talking. Ricky Brooks said that they can’t punch lower than 42 and the top five were under that, one even like 36 he said. The way he talked, he did punch them more than once to make sure. When those failed, he had an official get Sommerville’s tires and then he checked B.J. and Brian’s and they were all fine.

I am not an expert on tires so please don’t kill me if I am wrong but listen to the show on speed51 about the tires and they tell you everything you need to know about this.

When you listen to Dillner talk about Wayne’s tire trailer and how he felt when he saw it, it helps you see the perception of outside racers. I say get rid of the durometer rule and go with the no soak…put them all on the same tire or make it an open tire rule… It’s a no brainer…

one word , impound !

New tires, soaked tires, track rental, double stacked toter homes, tire soaker trailers, $40,000 engines, $2000.00 shocks, $200.00 entry fees, chassis dyno time, shaker rigs, etc., etc., etc…For what? $1000.00 to win?
No wonder tracks can no longer attract large fields of late models anymore.

Not saying that impound cannot happen but…

Impound rules usually apply to new tires. Not all teams at speedweeks buy new tires everyday. I know that it could happen, but there will be alot of speculation as to the used tires being impounded.

I know everyone has alot of simple solutions but be the guy understaffed that has to police it.

It’s just not apllicable to speedweeks.

the penalties need to be more severe . hit em where it hurts might just make em honest .just like when we were all kids if you couldnt behave you sat in a corner .

I know…